Holden’s Catch – s/t EP

cover

Holden’s Catch – s/t EP (Get Around Records): Holden’s Catch was an important band to me.  I only saw them a handful of times when I was in high school and they were always great.  Solid, tight live sets that matched the intensity of their recordings.  The important thing, though, was that this band was made up of kids only a few years older than me.  These were kids from my town of Orland Park, IL, some of whom went to my school.  This band perfectly illustrated an idea that, for me, is one of the most important tenets of punk – you can start a band.  This band recorded, played shows, even toured.  Along with The Lost Boys, which I’ll get to at some point on this blog, they made me realize this important fact.

This CD itself was released on local label Get Around Records, an outfit which would only put out a few CDs around 2004-2005 before calling it quits.  It’s one of Holden’s Catch’s last recordings.  Driving, dynamic punk that’s technical and complex while remaining catchy and memorable.  It’s got emo tendencies, but isn’t really sappy.  When I was 15, I called this post-hardcore and didn’t know what that meant.  I’m still not entirely sure.  What I am sure of is these 6 songs stand the test of time and are still more than listenable today.  Do yourself a favor and check them out.

GET IT

 

-Jim

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Holden’s Catch – s/t EP

  1. Johnny Goetzinger says:

    Hey man, our buddy Woody Hart sent us all this page to check out, I was the bass player in Holden’s Catch. Just wanted to say thanks for the kind words. I sure miss those days! Take care.

Leave a Reply

