No Substance – Last Seven Songs CDR

Image

No Substance – Last Seven Songs CDR (At The Library):  When I first started doing a label/distro, I tried to get my hands on whatever I could.  A lot of the time, this method really burned me and left me with lots of stuff that was mediocre to bad that I would be left sitting on for years.  But, I’m glad I did because it led me to No Substance.

This band was a hardcore punk band from the UK featuring folk punk hot shot/member of Gordon Gano’s Army, Russ Substance.  The song writing here is definitely a little simpler, more straight forward, but has a great dual vocal attack and thoughtful lyrics that you can tell would evolve into the style that GGA refined.  The music, however, is more of aggressive, hardcore leaning attack that still has underlying melody.  It’s sort of similar to something like Kid Dynamite, but less hooky and more direct.  Either way, this CDR is the band’s final material and by far their strongest.  It mixes the straight forward, angry ragers with some serious hooks and darker sounding parts –  Comfortable Disease comes to mind.   I’m not sure what members of this band are doing now, but No Substance will always hold a special place in my heart.

GET IT

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

